Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• Return to Introduction

Home page  HOME
Contact us!  ASK US
Print this page!  PRINT
Print this page!  WIFI PRINT

 

States

stripe
Databases Organized alphabetically› Online Resources

Note: If you are using the following Electronic Resources outside the Library, you will be asked to enter your St. Charles library card number and PIN number.  Use the barcode on the back of your library card and the PIN used with your card.

• Grolier OnlineType the  name of the state needed in the Find it Fast box to search three sources, America the Beautiful, Lands and People and The New Book of Knowledge.

• Encyclopedia Britannica For Kids
All the resources found in Encyclopedia Britannica, plus special online learning materials for students, in grades K-8. 
Type the state name in the Search the Encyclopedia box.

• Facts on File Curriculum Resource Center
Grades 6-12: Science projects and printable maps, flags, timelines and science diagrams.
Select States from the Main Menu and then select the state needed.

•  Rand McNally Classroom
Features maps, games, activities and geographic reference information.
Select U.S. States and Regions from the list on the left or the orange tab at the top of the screen and then select the state needed.

• World Book Encyclopedia
Features include timelines, maps, and interactive indexes. Incluye Encicopedia Estudiantil Halazgos.
Type the name of the state needed in the Search box.

• World Geography and Culture
Reproducible, full-color maps, flags, statistics, images, and information about a location's geography, government, history, society, and culture.
Select a state from the drop-down box near the top of the screen.

 

› websites

Note: When in the Library, access to the Youth Services selected Internet sites is available only to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.

• 50 States, Capitals & Flagsext link

• Geography Online Games from Sheppard’s Softwareext link

• Individual States

• United States Geographyext link

• US States: Facts, Map and State Capitalsext link

 

 Library Catalog Subject Headings

To find books available for check out, type the state’s name into the Catalog Search Box. Remember to use the column on the right to refine your results, especially the Audience.

OR

Try your own search using the Super Search to search the library catalog and other electronic resources.

lib live

›  Youth Services Reference Collection

The following books are part of our Reference Collection and remain in the Library available for use when the Library is open.

General Encyclopedias at the Homework Center

  • Compton’s by Encyclopedia Britannica
  • New Book of Knowledge
  • World Book Encyclopedia

Atlas Stand

  • J 911.73 NAT       Historical Atlas of the United States
  • J 912.73 HAR       The Young People’s Atlas of the United States

State Resources, J REFERENCE

  • J 032.02 WOR       The World Almanac and Book of Facts
  • J 582.130973 LAN  State Flowers
  • J 582.16 BRA        State Trees
  • J 598.2973 LAN     State Birds
  • J 641.5973 BAR     Cooking Up U.S. History
  • J 911 HAM            Atlas of United States History
  • J 912 MAP            Maps on File. Vol. II.
  • J 912.73 FAC        Junior State Maps on File
  • J 912.73 HAR        Young People’s Atlas of the United States
  • J 917.3 NAT          National Geographic Guide to the State Parks of the United States
  • J 917.304 CAN      Complete Guide to America’s National Parks
  • J 917.304 COM     Historic Landmarks of Black America
  • J 929.92 BRA        State Flags
  • J 929.92 HAB        How Proudly They Wave
  • J 929.92 SHE        State Names, Seals, Flags and Symbols: A Historical Guide
  • J 973 BER             Great State Seals of the United States
  • J 973 KAN             Facts About the States
  • J 973 MON            Monuments and Historic Places of America
  • J 973.03 JUN         Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
  • J 973.03 WOR       Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
  • J 973.3 NAS          Landmarks of the American Revolution
  • J 973.7 SIL           Landmarks of the Civil War
  • J 970’s                 America the Beautiful Series

 

Let us helpQuestions?
 Let Youth Services help. Feel free to ask us for help online or by phone at 630-584-9390.
 
7/10 MSP

logo©2012, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

CHAT with a Librarian

Related Links

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
•  Live Homework Help

Homework Help

Ask a Librarian Live

 
 States
HAPLR - a Top Ten American Library Library Journal STAR Library

Home
| Catalog | My Account | Ask Us | Mobile Site
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174 (map)
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services
©2013 St. Charles Public Library
Family Circle