Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• Return to Introduction

Home page  HOME
Contact us!  ASK US
Print this page!  PRINT
Print this page!  WIFI PRINT

 

Rocks, Minerals, Gems

stripe
Databases Organized alphabetically› Online Resources

Note: If you are using the following Electronic Resources outside the Library, you will be asked to enter your St. Charles library card number and PIN number.  Use the barcode on the back of your library card and the PIN used with your card.

• Grolier Online Type the name of the rock, mineral, or gem needed in the Find it Fast box to search two sources, The New Book of Popular Science and The New Book of Knowledge.

• Marshall Cavendish Digital
Type the name of the rock, mineral, or gem needed in the light blue Search Marshall Cavendish Digital box at the top of the screen.

•  World Book Online
Start here for background research on any topic. Articles are updated with current events information, useful links on the Internet, a monthly calendar of important dates and a Today in History feature.
Type the name of the rock, mineral, or gem needed in the Search box.

 

› websites

Note: When in the Library, access to the Youth Services selected Internet sites is available only to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.

• International Colored Gemstone Associationext link

• Gemstonesext link

• Mineralogy 4 Kidsext link

• Rocks for kidsext link

 

 Library Catalog Subject Headings

Search these headings to find books available for check out:

OR

Try your own search using the Super Search to search the library catalog and other electronic resources.

lib live

›  Youth Services Reference Collection

The following books are part of our Reference Collection and remain in the Library available for use when the Library is open.

General Encyclopedias at the Homework Center

  • Compton’s by Encyclopedia Britannica
  • New Book of Knowledge
  • World Book Encyclopedia

Rocks, Minerals, & Gems        J REFERENCE

  • J 503 GRO              Growing Up with Science
  • J 503 VIS               Visual Science Encyclopedia. Vol. 3
  • J 503 WOR             The World Book Student Discovery Science Encyclopedia
  • J 548 SYM              Crystal & Gem
  • J 549 SOF              Gems & Crystals
  • J 549.0222 EID        1000 Photos of Minerals and Fossils
  • J 549.0321 ROB       Encyclopedia of Minerals
  • J 550 EAR               Earth Science: Discovering the Secrets of the Earth. Vols. 1 & 2
  • J 550 EAR               Earth Sciences for Students
  • J 550 GEO               Geology
  • J 552 MOT              Simon & Schuster’s Guide To Rocks And Minerals
  • J 552 RIC                National Audubon Society First Field Guide, Rocks and Minerals
  • J 553.8 OLD            Firefly Guide To Gems
  • J553.8 SCH             Gemstones of the World

 

Let us helpQuestions?
 Let Youth Services help. Feel free to ask us for help online or by phone at 630-584-9390.
 
11/10 MSP

logo©2012, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

CHAT with a Librarian

Related Links

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
•  Live Homework Help

Homework Help

Ask a Librarian Live

 Rocks, Minerals, Gems
 
HAPLR - a Top Ten American Library Library Journal STAR Library

Home
| Catalog | My Account | Ask Us | Mobile Site
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services
©2012 St. Charles Public Library
Family Circle