Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• Return to Introduction

Home page  HOME
Contact us!  ASK US
Print this page!  PRINT
Print this page!  WIFI PRINT

 

Family Research — Detective Work for Kids

stripe

Children and adults can enjoy investigating family trees together. Genealogy as a hobby creates a unique opportunity to learn about one’s ancestors and the countries from which they immigrated. Students are able to use their organizational and research skills and in the process discover a whole new world--in the past. Here are some helpful guidelines to get started:

Where to Start

Begin by documenting your personal data, then work backwards. Start at home by interviewing immediate family members; they are your most valuable resource and can help to establish a framework for further research. Listen to old family stories at the next reunion. Send an email or letter to a distant relative who may remember details that otherwise might go unmentioned. Let the digging begin!

What to Expect

Do not expect to find a single book on the shelf that traces your family tree. Answers may be found in the most unexpected places. Anticipating results and discovering clues along the way adds excitement to this potentially life-long project. Documenting your family tree is a worthwhile task which preserves your family name for future generations. Patience is a requirement, although with so many resources accessible online, information is more readily available than ever before.

Where to Look

Websites, obituaries, newspapers, microfiche, census and military records, birth and death certificates, marriage and divorce records, city and county records, family heirlooms, bibles, journals, letters, and old photographs may all contain family clues. Request document copies (may require a nominal fee).

Basic Forms Available for Recording Findings

Copies of ancestral charts and census forms for recording family specifics are available in the Genealogy Department. Reproducible forms also are in various genealogy reference materials.

Introductory Titles for Beginners
Available in the Youth Services Department

Where Did You Get Those Eyes?: A Guide to Discovering Your Family History. Cooper, Kay.
J 929.1 COO

The Family Tree Detective: Cracking the Case of Your Family’s Story. Douglas, Ann.
J 929.1 DOU

Genealogy: How to Find Your Roots.  Gilfond, Henry
J 929.1 GIL

Ancestor Hunting.  Henriod, Lorraine.
J 929.1 HEN

Who Do You Think You Are? Digging for Your Family Roots.  Hilton, Suzanne.
J 929.1 HIL

Through the Eyes of Your Ancestors.  Taylor, Maureen.
J 929.1 TAY

Climbing Your Family Tree: Online and Offline Genealogy for Kids: The Official Ellis Island Handbook
Wolfman, Ira.
J 929.1 WOL

They Were Strong and Good.  Lawson, Robert.
J 929.2 LAW

Introductory Titles for Beginners
Available in the Adult Genealogy Department

Roots for Kids: A Genealogy Guide for Young People.  Beller, Susan Provost.
GENEALOGY 929.1 BEL

Genealogy for the First Time: Research Your Family History.  Best, Laura.
GEN REF 929.1 BES & GENEALOGY 929.1 BES

Organizing Your Family History Search: Efficient & Effective Ways to Gather and Protect Your Genealogical Research.  Carmack, Sharon DeBartolo.
GENEALOGY 929.1 CAR

The Complete Beginner’s Guide to Genealogy, the Internet, and Your Genealogy Computer Program. Clifford, Karen. 
GEN REF 929 CLI & GENEALOGY 929 CLI

Unpuzzling Your Past: The Best-Selling Basic Guide to Genealogy.  Croom, Emily Anne. 
GEN REF 929.1 CRO & GENEALOGY 929.1 CRO

Creating Junior Genealogists: Tips and Activities for Family History Fun.  Frisch, Karen. 
GENEALOGY 929.1 FRI

Writing Family History Made Very Easy.  Kyle, Noeline.
GENEALOGY 929.1 KYL

The Genealogist’s Question & Answer Book. Melnyk, Marcia Yannizze.
GEN REF 929.1 MEL

The Great Ancestor Hunt: The Fun of Finding Out Who You Are.  Perl, Lila.
GEN REF 929.1072 PER

Finding Your Chicago Ancestors: A Beginner’s Guide to Family History in the City and Cook County. DuMelle, Grace.
GEN REF 929.10720773 DUM & GENEALOGY 929.10720773 DUM

A Sampling of Core Resource Guides

Your Guide to the Federal Census for Genealogists, Researchers, and Family Historians.  Hinckley, Kathleen W.  
GEN REF 317.3 HIN

International Vital Records Handbook.  Kemp, Thomas Jay.
GEN REF 929.1 KEM 200

Red Book: American State, County & Town Sources.  Eichholz, Alice, ed.
GEN REF 929.1 RED

The Genealogist’s Address Book.  Bentley, Elizabeth Petty.
GEN REF 929.1025 GEN 2009

Genealogy Online.  Crowe, Elizabeth Powell. 
GEN REF 929.10285 CRO

The Handybook for Genealogists.  Everton, George B.
GEN REF 929.1072 HAN 2006

The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy.  Szucs, Loretto Dennis, ed.
GEN REF 929.1072 SOU

Subscription Databases Available from the Library’s website

Genealogy Research Guide

Premium Research Databases:
(St. Charles Public Library card required for remote access)

America’s Obituaries and Death Notices
Collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices from the United States.

Ancestry Library Edition
(Only available from within the Library)
With over 1.2 billion records, AncestryPlus is one of the most comprehensive online databases of genealogical and local history research available. (Guided Tour)

Genealogy Bank
Thousands of historical newspapers, documents and books covering the entire United States. Includes a searchable Social Security Death Index. New content is added monthly.

HeritageQuest Online
Includes genealogies, local histories, primary source materials and genealogical and local history serials. An ongoing project, this database continues to grow and includes materials from all 50 states, Canada and the British Isles. (Guided Tour)

Illinois Digital Archive
St. Charles, Kane County and Illinois local history documents, maps and photos. 

Newspaper databases are also available, as well as recommended websites.

Kid-Friendly Websites

COKids GenWeb Project

Cyndi’s List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet: Kids & Teens

Ellis Island

Family Tree and Other Family Crafts

Genealogy on the Web (Tar Heel Junior Historian Association, North Carolina Museum of History)

National Archives & Records Administration Genealogy Tool Kit: Getting Started Research Basics

Illinois State Archives

Kane County Genealogical Society

USGen Web Project

Youth Fiction Titles for Fun and Inspiration

When I Was Young.  Dunbar, James.
JE DUNBAR

My Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Grandfather…Was a Warrior!  Francaviglia, Riccardo.
JE FRANCAVIGLIA

My Mother’s Pearls.  Fruisen, Catherine Myler.
JE FRUISEN

Homeplace.  Shelby, Anne.
JE SHELBY

The Little White Horse. Goudge, Elizabeth.
J GOUDGE

Rosy Cole Discovers America!  Greenwald, Sheila.
J GREENWALD

Seven Brave Women.  Hearne, Betsy Gould.
J HEARNE

Family Tree.  Ayres, Katherine.
JH AYRES

Backwater.  Bauer, Joan.
JH BAUER

The Gramma War.  Butcher, Kristin. 
JH BUTCHER

Search for the Shadowman.  Nixon, Joan Lowery.
JH NIXON

Mercury.  Larson, Hope. YA 741.5 LAR

rev 12/10 JDC

logo©2012, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

Related Links

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
•  Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
HAPLR - a Top Ten American Library Library Journal STAR Library

Home
| Catalog | My Account | Ask Us | Mobile Site
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services
©2012 St. Charles Public Library
Family Circle