Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• Return to Introduction

Home page  HOME
Contact us!  ASK US
Print this page!  PRINT
Print this page!  WIFI PRINT

 

Countries

stripe
Databases Organized alphabetically› Online Resources

Note: If you are using the following Electronic Resources outside the Library, you will be asked to enter your St. Charles library card number and PIN number.  Use the barcode on the back of your library card and the PIN used with your card.

• Grolier Online Type the name of the country in the Find it Fast box to search two sources, Lands and People and The New Book of Knowledge.

• Encyclopedia Britannica For Kids
All the resources found in Encyclopedia Britannica, plus special online learning materials for students, in grades K-8. 
Type the name of the country in the Search the Encyclopedia box.

• Facts on File Curriculum Resource Center
Grades 6-12: Science projects and printable maps, flags, timelines and science diagrams.
Select Countries from the Main Menu and then the country needed.

•  Rand McNally Classroom
Features maps, games, activities and geographic reference information.
Select Countries & Territories from the list on the left or the orange tabs at the top of the screen and then select the country needed.

• World Book Encyclopedia
Features include timelines, maps, and interactive indexes. Incluye Encicopedia Estudiantil Halazgos.
Type the name of the country in the Search box.

• World Geography and Culture
Reproducible, full-color maps, flags, statistics, images, and information about a location's geography, government, history, society, and culture.
Select a country from the drop-down box at the top of the screen.

› websites

Note: When in the Library, access to the Youth Services selected Internet sites is available only to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.

• Flags of the Worldext link

• World Atlasext link

• World Flag and Map Databaseext link

• World Geographyext link

 

 Library Catalog Subject Headings

To find books available for check out, use the Catalog Search Box. Remember to refine your results using the column on the right, especially the Audience.

  • Country name
  • Continent name

OR

Try your own search using the Super Search to search the library catalog and other electronic resources.

lib live

›  Youth Services Reference Collection

The following books are part of our Reference Collection and remain in the Library available for use when the Library is open.

Youth Services Reference Collection

General Encyclopedias at the Homework Center

  • Compton’s by Encyclopedia Britannica
  • New Book of Knowledge
  • World Book Encyclopedia

Atlas Stand

  • J 912 ILL              Illustrated Atlas
  • J 912 JAC             The Ultimate Interactive Atlas of the World
  • J 912 OXF            Oxford Atlas of the World
  • J 912 WOR           The World Book Atlas

Country Resources       J REFERENCE

  • J 032.02 WOR       World Almanac
  • J 304.8 US           U.S. Immigration and Migration Almanac
  • J 304.873 AME      American Immigration
  • J 305.8 AME         American Immigrant Cultures
  • J 306.03 JUN        Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures
  • J 306.7603 JUN     Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cities
  • J 320.3 PIO          Governments of the World: A Student Companion
  • J 391 KEN            Ethnic Dress
  • J 394.2 WOR        World Book’s Celebrations and Rituals Around the World
  • J 394.26 FOL        Folklore of World Holidays
  • J 394.26 THO       Holiday Symbols and Customs
  • J 394.2603 FES     Festivals and Holidays
  • J 394.2603 JUN     Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Holidays
  • J 394.2663 CHR     Christmas in various countries (multiple volumes)
  • J 641.3 JUN          Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World
  • J 641.5 ALB          The Multicultural Cookbook for Students
  • J 641.568 WEB      Holidays of the World Cookbook for Students
  • J 780 STO            The Story of Music. Vol. 3
  • J 782.265 ENC       Encyclopedia of National Anthems
  • J 903 WOR            Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
  • J 910 LAN             Lands and Peoples
  • J 910 WOR            World Book Encyclopedia of People and Places
  • J 910.0203 JUN      Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Physical Geography
  • J 910.3 ENC           Encyclopedia of World Geography
  • J 910.3 JUN           Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
  • J 910.3 WOJ          Afghanistan to Zimbabwe: Country Facts That Helped Me Win the National Geographic Bee
  • J 912 MAP             Maps on File
  • J 929.92 DEV         Flags
  • J 929.9203 WOR     World Book’s Encyclopedia of Flags
  • J 940.03 PEO         Peoples of Europe

 

Let us helpQuestions?
 Let Youth Services help. Feel free to ask us for help online or by phone at 630-584-9390.
 
7/10 MSP

logo©2012, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

CHAT with a Librarian

Related Links

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
•  Live Homework Help

Homework Help

Ask a Librarian Live

 Countries
 
HAPLR - a Top Ten American Library Library Journal STAR Library

Home
| Catalog | My Account | Ask Us | Mobile Site
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174 (map)
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services
©2013 St. Charles Public Library
Family Circle