Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• Return to Introduction

Home page  HOME
Contact us!  ASK US
Print this page!  PRINT
wireless  WIFI PRINT

 

Civil War

stripe
Databases Organized alphabetically› Online Resources

Note: If you are using the following Electronic Resources outside the Library, you will be asked to enter your St. Charles library card number and PIN number.  Use the barcode on the back of your library card and the PIN used with your card.

• Facts on File Curriculum Resource Center
Grades 6-12: Science projects and printable maps, flags, timelines and science diagrams.
Click on the Additional Facts on File Databases link at the top on the right to search American History Online. Select The Civil War and Reconstruction: 1860-1876 from the Topic Centers box.

• Encyclopaedia Britannica For Kids
All the resources found in Encyclopaedia Britannica, plus special online learning materials for students, in grades K-8. 
Type American Civil War in the Search box.

• Grolier Online
Type American Civil War in the Search box.

•  World Book Encyclopaedia
Features include timelines, maps, and interactive indexes. Incluye Encicopedia Estudiantil Halazgos.
Type American Civil War in the Search box.

 

› websites

Note: When in the Library, access to the Youth Services selected Internet sites is available only to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.

• American Civil Warext link

• The Underground Railroadext link

 

 Library Catalog Subject Headings

Search these headings to find books available for check out:

OR

Try your own search using the Super Search to search the library catalog and other electronic resources.

lib live

›  Youth Services Reference Collection

The following books are part of our Reference Collection and remain in the Library available for use when the Library is open.

General Encyclopedias at the Homework Center

  • Compton’s by Britannica
  • New Book of Knowledge
  • World Book Encyclopedia

Atlas Stand

  • J 911.73 NAT       Historical Atlas of the United States

Civil War Resources    J REFERENCE

  • 355.1409 LLO     Combat Uniforms of the Civil War
  • 355.70951 ROB   Encyclopedia of Historic Forts
  • 920.073 MOS     Profiles in American History.  Vol. 4.
  • 973 AME           The American Scene.  Vol. 3 & 4.
  • 973 CHA           The Military History of the United States
  • 973 HAK            A History of US.  Book 6.
  • 973 MON           Monuments and Historic Places of America
  • 973.7 AME         The American Civil War
  • 973.7 DAV         Don’t Know Much About the Civil War
  • 973.7 GRE         National Geographic Guide to the Civil War Battlefield Parks
  • 973.7 HIL          American Civil War: Biographies
  • 973.7 HIL          Experiencing the American Civil War:  Novels, Nonfiction Books, Short Stories, Poems, Plays, Films and Songs
  • 973.7 SIL          Landmarks of the Civil War
  • 973.703 CIV       The Civil War
  • 973.70922 SIF    Who Was Who in the Civil War
  • 973.71 BIE         Life in the North During the Civil War
  • 973.7115 TUR     The Underground Railroad In Illinois
  • 973.73 ATL        The Atlas of the Civil War
  • 975.03 REG        Life in the South During the Civil War
Let us helpQuestions?
 Let Youth Services help. Feel free to ask us for help online or by phone at 630-584-9390.
 
7/10 msp

logo©2012, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

CHAT with a Librarian

Related Links

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
•  Live Homework Help

Homework Help

Ask a Librarian Live

 Civil War
 
HAPLR - a Top Ten American Library Library Journal STAR Library

Home
| Catalog | My Account | Ask Us | Mobile Site
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174 (map)
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services
©2013 St. Charles Public Library
Family Circle