CATALOG   MY ACCOUNT  Library Cards & Renewals down Reference & Research down  Library Info down  En Español down 
St. Charles Public Library
   
   
 Outreach down  Computers down
 
bullet Research Guide Categories:
bullet Introduction
bullet American History:
sq Civil War
sq Revolutionary War
sq The West
bullet Biography
bullet Countries
bullet Genealogy
bullet Illinois
bullet Native Americans
bullet Pond Life
bullet Science Projects
bullet States
bullet WWI, WWII & Holocaust
bullet World History:
sq Ancient
sq Medieval & Renaissance
sq Modern
bullet Return to Introduction
 
Home page
Contact us!
Print this page!
WWI, WWII & Holocaust
 

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you as you begin a research project. The books listed below are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REFERENCE

at the Homework Center

New Book of Knowledge
World Book Encyclopedia
The Grolier Illustrated Encyclopedia

World War I J REFERENCE

J 305.403 MAT American Women’s History
J 902.02 CHR Chronicle of the World
J 902.02 WET New York Public Library Book of Chronologies
J 911 HIS Historical Maps on File
J 940.3 PEN World War I
J 940.3 SHE Pictorial History of World War I
J 940.303 GRO Grolier Library of World War I
J 973 AME American Heritage History of the United States
J 973 AME The American Scene
J 973 CHA The Military History of the United States
J 973 HAK A History of Us
J 973.0202 CHR Chronicle of America
J 973.0202 GRO The American Years
J 973.0222 ALB Album of American History
J 973.03 DIC Dictionary of American History
J 973.91 UXL American Decades

World War II J REFERENCE

J 305.403 MAT American Women’s History
J 902.02 CHR Chronicle of the World
J 902.02 WET New York Public Library Book of Chronologies
J 911 HIS Historical Maps on File
J 940.53 WOR World War II
J 940.54 MES Pictorial History of World War II
J 940.54 NEW New Grolier Encyclopedia of World War II
J 973 AME American Heritage History of the United States
J 973 AME The American Scene
J 973 CHA The Military History of the United States
J 973 HAK A History of Us
J 973.0202 CHR Chronicle of America
J 973.0202 GRO The American Years
J 973.0222 ALB Album of American History
J 973.03 DIC Dictionary of American History
J 973.91 UXL American Decades

The Holocaust J REFERENCE

J 940.53 WOR World War II
J 940.5318… Holocaust
J 940.5318 FEL Understanding the Holocaust
J 940.5318 HOL The Holocaust
J 940.5318 PEO People of the Holocaust
J 940.5318 VOI Voice of the Holocaust
J 940.53180922 Rescue and Resistance: Portraits of the
RES Holocaust
J 940.54 MES Pictorial History of World War II
J 940.54 NEW The New Grolier Encyclopedia of World War II
J 973 CHA The Military History of the United States

Magazines

Additional information may be found in this magazines:

  • Calliope

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching these headings:

  • World War, 1914-1918
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)

Browsing the Shelves

Information can be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 940.3—World War I
J 940.5318—Holocaust
J 940.54—World War II

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

  • Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases.
  • Find Internet sites using Internet Links: Resources for Homework.
  • Internet access at the Library is available to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.
  • Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

Printing articles at the Library:

Black & white at 10¢ a page
Color at $1.00 a page
Email to your home address at no cost

revised 10/04

 

Print this pagePrint this page

Copyright 2008 • St Charles Public Library, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!
 

 Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
Home | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services  •  630-584-0961 TDD
Copyright ©2008 St. Charles Public Library