CATALOG   MY ACCOUNT  Library Cards & Renewals down Reference & Research down  Library Info down  En Español down 
St. Charles Public Library
   
   
 Outreach down  Computers down
 
bullet Research Guide Categories:
bullet Introduction
bullet American History:
sq Civil War
sq Revolutionary War
sq The West
bullet Biography
bullet Countries
bullet Genealogy
bullet Illinois
bullet Native Americans
bullet Pond Life
bullet Science Projects
bullet States
bullet WWI, WWII & Holocaust
bullet World History:
sq Ancient
sq Medieval & Renaissance
sq Modern
bullet Return to Introduction
 
Home page
Contact us!
Print this page!
Ancient World History
 

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you as you begin a research project. The books listed below are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REFERENCE

at the Homework Center

New Book of Knowledge
World Book Encyclopedia
The Grolier Illustrated Encyclopedia

General J REFERENCE

J 391.009 PEN Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages
J 902.02 CHR Chronicle of the World
J 902.02 WET New York Public Library Book of Chronologies
J 909… Time Frame
J 909 GRO National Geographic Atlas of World History
J 909 OUR Our World’s Heritage
J 909 SOM Dorling Kindersley History of the World
J 910.922 EXP Explorers: From Ancient Times to the Space Age
J 911 HIS Historical Maps on File
J 930 ANC Ancient Civilizations
J 930 EXP Exploring Ancient Civilizations
J 930 HIS Ancient Civilizations
J 930 HIS The History of the Ancient & Medieval World
J 930 KNI Ancient Civilizations
J 930 SCA Smithsonian Timelines of the Ancient World
J 930.1 AST Atlas of Archaeology

Ancient Egypt J REFERENCE

J 391.00932 WAT Costume of Ancient Egypt
J 932 SHA Dictionary of Ancient Egypt

Ancient Greece J REFERENCE

J 391.00936 SIC Costume of the Classical World
J 938 ANC Ancient Greece and Rome
J 938 SAC Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World

Ancient Rome J REFERENCE

J 391.00937 SYM Costume of Ancient Rome
J 937 ADK Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome
J 937.0603 BUN Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire
J 938 ANC Ancient Greece and Rome

Other Ancient Civilizations J REFERENCE

J 391.0093 WAT Costume of Old Testament Peoples
J 391.00936 SIC Costume of the Classical World
J 939.4 ANC The Ancient Near East

Magazines

Additional information may be found in this magazine:

  • Calliope

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching these headings:

  • History, Ancient
  • Athens (Greece)
  • Rome
  • World history

Ask a Librarian for additional subject headings.

Browsing the Shelves

Information can be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 909—World history
J 912—Maps
J 930—History of the Ancient World
J 940—History of Europe
J 950—History of Asia
J 960—History of Africa

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

  • Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases.
  • Find Internet sites using Internet Links: Resources for Homework.
  • Internet access at the Library is available to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.
  • Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

Printing articles at the Library:

Black & white at 10¢ a page
Color at $1.00 a page
Email to your home address at no cost

revised 10/04

 

Print this pagePrint this page

Copyright 2008 • St Charles Public Library, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!
 

 Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
Home | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services  •  630-584-0961 TDD
Copyright ©2008 St. Charles Public Library