CATALOG   MY ACCOUNT  Library Cards & Renewals down Reference & Research down  Library Info down  En Español down 
St. Charles Public Library
   
   
 Outreach down  Computers down
 
bullet Research Guide Categories:
bullet Introduction
bullet American History:
sq Civil War
sq Revolutionary War
sq The West
bullet Biography
bullet Countries
bullet Genealogy
bullet Illinois
bullet Native Americans
bullet Pond Life
bullet Science Projects
bullet States
bullet WWI, WWII & Holocaust
bullet World History:
sq Ancient
sq Medieval & Renaissance
sq Modern
bullet Return to Introduction
 
Home page
Contact us!
Print this page!
States
 

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you as you begin a research project. The books listed below are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REFERENCE

at the Homework Center

New Book of Knowledge
World Book Encyclopedia
The Grolier Student Encyclopedia

State Resources J REFERENCE

J 032.02 WOR The World Almanac and Book of Facts
J 317.3 MEL New Book of American Rankings
J 320.09773 ILL Illinois Blue Book
J 394.26973 FOL Folklore of American Holidays
J 582.130973 LAN State Flowers
J 582.16 BRA State Trees
J 598.2973 LAN State Birds
J 641.5973 BAR Cooking Up U.S. History
J 911 HAM Atlas of United States History
*J 912.73 HAR Young People’s Atlas of the United States
*J 912.73 MAT Macmillan Color Atlas of the States
J 917.3 FAC State Maps on File: Midwest
J 917.303928 NAT Guide to the National Parks of the United States
J 917.304 CAN Complete Guide to America’s National Parks
J 917.304 COM Historic Landmarks of Black America
J 917.73 BLA Awesome Almanac Illinois
J 917.73 BUI Historic Illinois from the Air
J 929.92 BRA State Flags
J 929.92 HAB How Proudly They Wave
J 929.92 SHE State Names, Seals, Flags and Symbols: A Historical Guide
J 973 BER Great State Seals of the United States
J 973 CAR Facts About the Cities
J 973 KAN Facts About the States
J 973 MON Monuments and Historic Places of America
J 973.03 JUN Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
J 973.03 WOR Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
J 973.3 NAS Landmarks of the American Revolution
J 973.7 SIL Landmarks of the Civil War
J 973.7115 TUR Underground Railroad in Illinois
J 97… America the Beautiful Series
J 977.3 ILL Illinois History. Index at ASKME Desk

*Located on the Atlas Stand

Magazines

Additional information may be found in these magazines:

  • Cobblestone
  • Illinois History

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching:

  • State Name

Ask a Librarian for additional subject headings.

Browsing the Shelves

Information can be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 917—United States
J 97..—United States

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

  • Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases.
  • Find Internet sites using Internet Links: Resources for Homework.
  • Internet access at the Library is available to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.
  • Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

Printing articles at the Library:

Black & white at 10¢ a page
Color at $1.00 a page
Email to your home address at no cost

revised 10/04

 

Print this pagePrint this page

Copyright 2008 • St Charles Public Library, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!
 

 Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
Home | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services  •  630-584-0961 TDD
Copyright ©2008 St. Charles Public Library