• Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
   The West
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• World History:
   Ancient
   Medieval & Renaissance
   Modern
• Return to Introduction


 

Pond Life

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you as you begin a research project. The books listed below are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REFERENCE

at the Homework Center

New Book of Knowledge
World Book Encyclopedia
The Grolier Student Encyclopedia

General J REFERENCE

J 508.77 KOC The Field Guide to Nearby Nature
J 508.773 SUL Atlas of Biodiversity

Mammals J REFERENCE

J 590 ANI Animals: A Macmillan Illustrated Encyclopedia
J 591.03 AMA Amazing Animals of the World
J 591.03 INT International Wildlife Encyclopedia
J 599 MOR World of Animals: Mammals
J 599.003 ENC Encyclopedia of Mammals
J 599.09773 HOF Mammals of Illinois

Amphibians J REFERENCE

J 590 ANI Animals: A Macmillan Illustrated Encyclopedia
J 591.03 AMA Amazing Animals of the World
J 591.03 INT International Wildlife Encyclopedia
J 597.9 REP Reptiles and Amphibians

Insects J REFERENCE

J 591.03 AMA Amazing Animals of the World
J 591.03 INT International Wildlife Encyclopedia
J 595.7 BOR A Field Guide to Insects
J 595.7 INS Insects and Spiders of the World
J 595.7097 MIL National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Insects & Spiders

Birds J REFERENCE

J 590 ANI Animals : A Macmillan Illustrated Encyclopedia
J 591.03 AMA Amazing Animals of the World
J 591.03 INT International Wildlife Encyclopedia
J 598 BIR World of Animals: Birds
J 598.29773 BOH Birds of Illinois

Fish J REFERENCE

J 578.76 AQU Aquatic Life of the World
J 590 ANI Animals : A Macmillan Illustrated Encyclopedia
J 591.03 AMA Amazing Animals of the World
J 591.03 INT International Wildlife Encyclopedia

Mollusks J REFERENCE

J 591.03 AMA Amazing Animals of the World
J 591.03 INT International Wildlife Encyclopedia

Plants J REFERENCE

J 580 BAI Plants and Plant Life
J 580 PLA Plant Sciences
J 581.977323 YOU Kane County Wild Plants & Natural Areas
J 584.9 BRO Grasses

Magazines

Additional information may be found in these magazines:

  • Ranger Rick
  • Science World
  • Zoobooks

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching these headings:

  • Pond animals
  • Pond ecology
  • Pond plants

Ask a Librarian for additional subject headings.

Browsing the Shelves

Information can be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 580—Plants
J 591—Animals

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

  • Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases.
  • Find Internet sites using Internet Links: Resources for Homework.
  • Internet access at the Library is available to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.
  • Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

Printing articles at the Library:

Black & white at 10¢ a page
Color at $1.00 a page
Email to your home address at no cost

revised 10/04

©2010, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

• Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
HAPLR - a Top Ten American LibraryHome | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services  •  630-584-0961 TDD
©2010 St. Charles Public Library