CATALOG   MY ACCOUNT  Library Cards & Renewals down Reference & Research down  Library Info down  En Español down 
St. Charles Public Library
   
   
 Outreach down  Computers down
 
bullet Research Guide Categories:
bullet Introduction
bullet American History:
sq Civil War
sq Revolutionary War
sq The West
bullet Biography
bullet Countries
bullet Genealogy
bullet Illinois
bullet Native Americans
bullet Pond Life
bullet Science Projects
bullet States
bullet WWI, WWII & Holocaust
bullet World History:
sq Ancient
sq Medieval & Renaissance
sq Modern
bullet Return to Introduction
 
Home page
Contact us!
Print this page!
Illinois
 

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist in beginning a research project. It is arranged by broad categories commonly required for assignments. The materials are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REF

at the Homework Center

New Book of Knowledge
World Book Encyclopedia
The Grolier Student Encyclopedia

Illinois Resources J REF

016.977 EXP Exploring the Great Lakes States Through Literature
317.3 MEL The New Book of American Rankings
320.09773 ILL Illinois Blue Book
917.73 BLA Awesome Almanac Illinois
917.73 BUI Historic Illinois from the Air
917.73 HAY Streetwise Chicago
917.73 ILL Illinois Generations: A Traveler’s Guide to African American Heritage
917.7311 DAN Chicago’s Museums
917.7311044 CHI Chicago’s Famous Buildings
917.73110443 DAV Kidding Around Chicago
920 COL Notable Illinois Women
929.92 HAB How Proudly They Wave
929.92 SHE State Names, Seals, Flags, and Symbols
973 BER Great State Seals of the United States
973 CAR Facts about the Cities
973 KAN Facts about the States
973.03 JUN Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
973.03 WOR Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
973.7115 TUR Underground Railroad in Illinois
97… America The Beautiful Series
97… Illinois History (Index at the ASK ME Desk)

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching these headings

  • Illinois

Ask a Librarian for additional subject headings.

Browsing the Shelves

Information will be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 977.3—Illinois

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

  • Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases.
  • Find Internet sites using Internet Links: Resources for Homework.
  • Internet access at the Library is available to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.
  • Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

Printing articles at the Library:

Black & white at 10¢ a page
Color at $1.00 a page
Email to your home address at no cost

revised 2/04

 

Print this pagePrint this page

Copyright 2008 • St Charles Public Library, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!
 

 Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
Home | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services  •  630-584-0961 TDD
Copyright ©2008 St. Charles Public Library