CATALOG   MY ACCOUNT  Library Cards & Renewals down Reference & Research down  Library Info down  En Español down 
St. Charles Public Library
   
   
 Outreach down  Computers down
 
bullet Research Guide Categories:
bullet Introduction
bullet American History:
sq Civil War
sq Revolutionary War
sq The West
bullet Biography
bullet Countries
bullet Genealogy
bullet Illinois
bullet Native Americans
bullet Pond Life
bullet Science Projects
bullet States
bullet WWI, WWII & Holocaust
bullet World History:
sq Ancient
sq Medieval & Renaissance
sq Modern
bullet Return to Introduction
 
Home page
Contact us!
Print this page!
Countries
 

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you as you begin a research
project. The books listed below are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services
Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REFERENCE

at the Homework Center

  • New Book of Knowledge
  • World Book Encyclopedia
  • The Grolier Student Encyclopedia

Country Resources J REFERENCE

J 032.02 WOR World Almanac
J 304.873 AME American Immigration
J 305.8 AME American Immigrant Cultures
J 306.03 JUN Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures
J 306.7603 JUN Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cities
J 307.7603 NES Encyclopedia of World Cities
J 310 KUR Illustrated Book of World Rankings
J 320.3 PIO Governments of the World: A Student Companion
J 394.2 WOR World Book’s Celebrations and Rituals Around the World
J 394.26 CAR Festivals, Family and Food
J 394.26 FOL Folklore of World Holidays
J 394.2603 JUN Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Holidays
J 641.3 JUN Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World
J 641.5 ALB The Multicultural Cookbook for Students
J 903 WOR Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
J 910 LAN Lands and Peoples
J 910 WOR World Book Encyclopedia of People and Places
J 910.0203 JUN Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Physical Geography
J 910.3 ENC Encyclopedia of World Geography
J 910.3 JUN Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
J 912 GEO* Encyclopedic World Atlas
J 912 MAP* Maps of the World
J 912 MAP Maps on File
J 912 WOR* World Book Atlas
J 929.92 FLA Flags of the World
J 940.03 PEO Peoples of Europe

* Located on the Atlas Stand

Magazines

Additional information may be found in this magazines:

  • Faces

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching these headings:

  • France
  • Switzerland
  • Each country name

Ask a Librarian for additional subject headings.

Browsing the Shelves

Information can be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 94…— Europe
J 95…— Asia
J 96…— Africa
J 97…— United States
J 98…— South America

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

  • Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases.
  • Find Internet sites using Internet Links: Resources for Homework.
  • Internet access at the Library is available to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.
  • Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

Printing articles at the Library:

Black & white at 10¢ a page
Color at $1.00 a page
Email to your home address at no cost

revised 10/04

 

Print this pagePrint this page

Copyright 2008 • St Charles Public Library, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!
 

 Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
Home | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services  •  630-584-0961 TDD
Copyright ©2008 St. Charles Public Library