CATALOG   MY ACCOUNT  Library Cards & Renewals down Reference & Research down  Library Info down  En Español down 
St. Charles Public Library
   
   
 Outreach down  Computers down
 
bullet Research Guide Categories:
bullet Introduction
bullet American History:
sq Civil War
sq Revolutionary War
sq The West
bullet Biography
bullet Countries
bullet Genealogy
bullet Illinois
bullet Native Americans
bullet Pond Life
bullet Science Projects
bullet States
bullet WWI, WWII & Holocaust
bullet World History:
sq Ancient
sq Medieval & Renaissance
sq Modern
bullet Return to Introduction
 
Home page
Contact us!
Print this page!
Biography
 

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you in beginning a research project. It is arranged by broad categories commonly required for assignments. The materials are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REF (at the Homework Center)

New Book of Knowledge
World Book Encyclopedia
The Grolier Student Encyclopedia

Biography (General)     J REFERENCE

  305.4 KEE Scholastic Encyclopedia of Women in the United States
  305.403 MAT American Women’s History
  364.1092 MAC Outlaws, Mobsters & Crooks
  364.10922 VIL Villains and Outlaws
  509.22 BIO Biography Today: Scientists and Inventors Series
  509.22 SCI Lives and Legacies: An Encyclopedia of People Who Changed the World: Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors
  629.4 SPA Space Exploration: Biographies
  629.4500922 CAS Who’s Who in Space
  700.922 CRE Creative and Performing Artists for Teens
  700.922 LIV Lives and Works in the Arts: from the Renaissance to the 20th Century
  796 SUL Great Lives: Sports
  796.0922 PAR Sports Stars
  809 LEM Profiles of Illinois Authors for Young People
  909.07 CRU The Crusades: Biographies
  909.07 KNI Middle Ages: Biographies
  909.81 OUT Industrial Revolution: Biographies
  909.82 HAN Cold War: Biographies
  910.922 EXP Explorers and Discoverers
  910.922 EXP Explorers and Exploration
  910.922 EXP Explorers: from Ancient Times to the Space Age
  920 BIO Biography for Beginners
  920 BIO Biography Today
  920 COL Notable Illinois Women
  920 GRO Grolier Library of North American Biography
  920 HUD Afro-Bets Book of Black Heroes from A to Z
  920 KIN Kings and Queens
  920 UXL Newsmakers
  920.00904 CON Contemporary Heroes and Heroines
  920.073 MOS Profiles in American History
  920.077311 Chicago Portraits  
  920.72 GRE Book of Black Heroes: Great Women in the Struggle
  920.72 GRO Grolier Library of Women’s Biographies
  920.922 EXP Explorers and Discoverers of the World
  920.922 WAL Who Was Who in World Exploration
  920.922 WOR World Explorers and Discoverers
  928 SCI Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Writers
  928 SOM Something about the Author
  928 YES Yesterday’s Authors of Books for Children
  930 KNI Ancient Civilizations: Biographies
  940.21 SAA Renaissance and Reformation: Biographies
  940.3 PEN World War I:  Biographies
  940.53 WOR World War II: Biographies
  940.5318 PEO People of the Holocaust
  940.5318 VOI Voices of the Holocaust
  940.53180922 RES Rescue and Resistance: Portraits of the Holocaust
  951.9042 BEN Korean War: Biographies
  956.70442 HIL War in the Persian Gulf: Biographies
  959.7043 HIL Vietnam War: Biographies
  970.00497 WAL Who Was Who in Native American History
  973.00992 QUI Roots of the Republic
  973.0497 SIG Young Oxford History of Women in the United States (Volume 11)
  973.0922 PRE The Presidents
  973.099 MAT Complete American Presidents Sourcebook
  973.099 WOR The World Book of America’s Presidents  
  973.0992 KAN Facts About the Presidents
  973.0992 PAL The World Almanac of First Ladies
  973.0992 PRE The Presidents: A Reference History
  973.2 SAA Colonial America:  Biographies
  973.30922 SCH American Revolution:  Biographies
  973.7 HIL American Civil War: Biographies
  973.70922 SIF Who Was Who in the Civil War
  973.91 HAN Great Depression and New Deal: Biographies
  973.915 HOW Roaring Twenties: Biographies
  978 PEN Westward Expansion: Biographies

Browsing the Shelves

Information will be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 920 – 927 — General collected biographies
J 920.72 — Women
JB Biographies

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research:

  • Use the computer catalog to find resources about the person by entering their name, last name first
  • Ask a Librarian for additional subject headings.

Magazines

Additional information may be found in these magazines:

  • Biography Today
  • Cobblestone

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

1.   Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases using Online Resources: History. Click on American History or Ancient History & Culture orWorld History > Biographies  (type the person’s name in the Search box).

-OR-

Use Online Resources: Encyclopedias & Atlas. Click on World Book Encyclopedia or New Book of Knowledge  (type the person’s name in the Search box).

2.   Find selected Internet sites using  Internet Links: Resources for Homework > Biography Sites.  Choose one of the categories.

3.   Use the Library’s Premium Search Databases. (Use any of the five databases shown. If using these outside the Library and you are asked for identification, use the barcode on the back of your library card and the PIN used with your card.)

4.   Access to a managed set of Internet links is available in Youth Services to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.

5.   Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

6.   Printing articles at the Library:

  • Black & white at 10¢ a page (20¢ for 11x17)
  • Color at $1.00 a page ($2.00 for 11x17)
  • E-mail to your home address at no cost

revised 10/06

 

Print this pagePrint this page

Copyright 2008 • St Charles Public Library, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!
 

 Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
Home | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services  •  630-584-0961 TDD
Copyright ©2008 St. Charles Public Library