• Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
   The West
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• World History:
   Ancient
   Medieval & Renaissance
   Modern
• Return to Introduction


 

The West

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you in beginning a research project. It is arranged by broad categories commonly required for assignments. The materials are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REF
at the Homework Center

  • New Book of Knowledge
  • World Book Encyclopedia
  • The Grolier Student Encyclopedia

The West J REF

364.1092 MAC Outlaws, Mobsters and Crooks
364.10922 VIL Villains and Outlaws
920.073 MOS Profiles in American History
973 AME American Heritage History of the United States
978 AME The American West
978 ENC Encyclopedia of the American West
978 PEN Westward Expansion
978 WAR The West
978.003 SLA The Cowboy Encyclopedia

Magazines

Additional information may be found in these magazines:

  • Apple Seeds
  • Calliope
  • Cobblestone

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching these headings

  • West (U.S.)
  • Great Plains
  • Cowboys—West (U.S.)
  • Frontier and pioneer life

Ask a Librarian for additional subject headings.

Browsing the Shelves

Information will be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 978—American West

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

  • Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases.
  • Find Internet sites using Internet Links: Resources for Homework.
  • Internet access is available at the Library to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.
  • Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

Printing articles at the Library:

  • Black & white at $.10 a page
  • Color at $1.00 a page
  • E-mail to your home address at no cost

revised 2/04

©2010, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

• Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
HAPLR - a Top Ten American LibraryHome | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services
©2010 St. Charles Public Library