CATALOG   MY ACCOUNT  Library Cards & Renewals down Reference & Research down  Library Info down  En Español down 
St. Charles Public Library
   
   
 Outreach down  Computers down
 
bullet Research Guide Categories:
bullet Introduction
bullet American History:
sq Civil War
sq Revolutionary War
sq The West
bullet Biography
bullet Countries
bullet Genealogy
bullet Illinois
bullet Native Americans
bullet Pond Life
bullet Science Projects
bullet States
bullet WWI, WWII & Holocaust
bullet World History:
sq Ancient
sq Medieval & Renaissance
sq Modern
bullet Return to Introduction
 
Home page
Contact us!
Print this page!
Revolutionary War
 

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you in beginning a research project. It is arranged by broad categories commonly required for assignments. The materials are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REF
at the Homework Center

New Book of Knowledge
World Book Encyclopedia
The Grolier Student Encyclopedia

Revolutionary War Resources J REF

355.70951 ROB Encyclopedia of Historic Forts
391.04355 COP Uniforms of the American Revolution
920 GRO Grolier Library of North American Biographies
920.073 MOS Profiles in American History
970.02 NOR North America in Colonial Times
973 AME American Heritage History of the United States
973 AME The American Scene
973 CHA The Military History of the United States
973 HAK A History of Us
973 MON Monuments and Historic Places of America
973 VAN American History for Children and Young Adults
973.00992 STR Roots of the Republic v. 1 Signers of the Declaration of Independence
973.0202 CHR Chronicle of America
973.0202 GRO The American Years
973.0202 GRO This Day in American History
973.0222 ALB Album of American History
973.03 DIC Dictionary of American History
973.2 SAA Colonial American Biographies
973.203 COL Colonial America
973.3 ENC The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America
973.3 REV The Revolutionary War
973.3 WOR The World Almanac of the American Revolution
973.30922 SCH American Revolution: Biographies

 

Magazines

Additional information may be found in these magazines:

  • Apple Seeds
  • Calliope
  • Cobblestone
 

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching these headings

  • United States—History—Revolution, 1775-1783

Ask a Librarian for additional subject headings.

Browsing the Shelves

Information will be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 970—North American History
J 973—American History

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

Printing articles at the Library:

  • Black & white at 10¢ a page
  • Color at $1.00 a page
  • Email to your home address at no cost

revised 2/04

 

Print this pagePrint this page

Copyright 2008 • St Charles Public Library, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!
 

 Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
Home | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services  •  630-584-0961 TDD
Copyright ©2008 St. Charles Public Library