• Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
   The West
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• World History:
   Ancient
   Medieval & Renaissance
   Modern
• Return to Introduction


 

Civil War

This research guide is a partial list of materials available to assist you in beginning a research project. It is arranged by broad categories commonly required for assignments. The materials are shelved in numerical order in the Youth Services Reference collection.

Ask a Librarian if you have any questions or need assistance.

General Encyclopedias J REF
at the Homework Center

New Book of Knowledge
World Book Encyclopedia
The Grolier Student Encyclopedia

Civil War Resources J REF

355.1409 LLO Combat Uniforms of the Civil War
355.70951 ROB Encyclopedia of Historic Forts
920 GRO Grolier Library of North American Biographies
920.073 MOS Profiles in American History
973 AME American Heritage History of the United States
973 AME The American Scene
973 CHA The Military History of the United States
973 HAK A History of Us
973 MON Monuments and Historic Places of America
973.0202 CHR Chronicle of America
973.0202 GRO The American Years
973.0222 ALB Album of American History
973.03 DIC Dictionary of American History
973.0497 SIG The Young Oxford History of Women in the United States
973.7 ALL The Blue and the Gray
973.7 AME The American Civil War
973.7 BAR Pictorial History of the Civil War
973.7 DAV Don’t Know Much About the Civil War
973.7 GRE National Geographic Guide to the Civil War Battlefield Parks
973.7 HIL American Civil War: Biographies
973.7 HIL Experiencing the American Civil War: Novels, Nonfiction Books, Short Stories, Poems, Plays, Films and Songs
973.70922 SIF Who Was Who in the Civil War
973.71 BIE Life in the North During the Civil War
973.73 ATL The Atlas of the Civil War
975.03 REG Life in the South During the Civil War

Magazines

Additional information may be found in these magazines:

  • Apple Seeds
  • Calliope
  • Cobblestone

Computer Catalog Subject Headings

Continue your research by searching these headings

  • United States—History—Civil War, 1861-1865
  • Slavery

Ask a Librarian for additional subject headings.

Browsing the Shelves

Information will be found in different shelf locations based on the subject area. Below is just a small sampling of subject areas. Ask a Librarian for additional locations.

J 973—United States History
J 973.7—Civil War

Electronic Resources & Internet Searches

  • Expand your research by searching the online encyclopedias and databases.
  • Find Internet sites using Internet Links: Resources for Homework.
  • Internet access at the Library is available to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.
  • Each resource has a different search strategy, so be sure to ask a Librarian to assist you.

Printing articles at the Library:

Black & white at 10¢ a page
Color at $1.00 a page
Email to your home address at no cost

revised 2/04

©2010, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

• Related Links:

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
• Live Homework Help

 

Ask a Librarian Live

lib live

Homework Help


external link External Link
Clicking a link accompanied by this icon will open a third party site or page not owned or controlled by the St. Charles Public Library.
HAPLR - a Top Ten American LibraryHome | Catalog | My Account | Ask Us
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services
©2010 St. Charles Public Library