Yes, it’s that happy time–our annual eReader purchasing advice. With more and more eReaders and tablet computers flooding the market, please take time before you buy to be sure that your gizmo will download library materials. Get a complete list of more than 100 library compatible reading and listening devices.
Whether you want a Nook, iPad, Kindle or an “off brand” tablet, CNET has reviewed the major players in the field for you. They even talk about library borrowing! Read the review, or stop in to see reviews from Consumer Reports. (Ask us how to use our Lexis Nexis online subscription to read Consumer Reports reviews from home.) If you’re only interested in the newest gadgets, MediaBistro has their top five.
Once you have your reader, smartphone or tablet, connect to our eBooks & Media page to get started. Want in-person support? Stop by any time (well, maybe not five minutes before we close), and staff will help you download your first item. We also regularly hold drop-in help sessions. Just check your current issue of Discover, our website, or give us a call for more information.
Finally, if you’re feeling an overload of technostress, we once again recommend turning to the Medieval Help Desk for a laugh. I know we post it every year, but it’s still funny!
Singer/Songwriter Emilia Dahlin CC Photo by: Ctd 2005 via Flickr
If you’re a crooner, a diva or a wedding singer, we’ll make you want to sing about our resources.
Photo: Chance Agrella
Sheet music: We’ve got hundreds and hundreds of books of sheet music (classical, rock, pop, historical, patriotic, and Christmas carols, to name a few). Don’t see the song you need for your instrument? Music can be a little tricky to search, so just ask!
Instruction: We have books, CDs and DVDs on mastering everything from piano to ukelele. You can even take music appreciation online (see Universal Class).
Shopping: If you need a new cello, piano, or guitar, we have books to help you buy the right instrument, or even build your own.
Online: Check out our Naxos sheet music database to download sheet music–legally! While best for classical pieces, it has a great feature for singers–transpose (change the key) online before you print most pieces. Hobbies & Crafts database features thousands of articles (with pictures) on everything from mixing your music in a studio to violin restoration.
Listening: Of course we have thousands and thousands of CDs, plus streaming and downloadable music. There are books to help you choose your next great listen or to learn about music styles and history. Don’t forget DVDs of musical performances, and all of the concerts at the library, too!
Seeking inspiration? Check out print or online biographies of musicians.
Whether you like to dabble or are trying to make it as a musician, let’s make beautiful music together.
We are setting records for hot weather this summer, and our poor gardens are certainly showing it. Wondering how to keep your yard and gardens alive despite watering restrictions and hot, dry weather?
We have several books in our gardening collection that might help you.
Success with Water-Saving Gardens by Graham Clarke provides lots of tips on how to garden in adverse conditions. The book has numerous illustrations plus an A-to-Z list of low-water plants. (635.9525 CLA)
What do cats have to do with technology (besides the fact that 1/3 of the Internet is made up of adorable kitties doing adorably funny things)? In this case, the little cat feet lead us to our online research database, LitFinder. Another librarian reminded me that LitFinder used to be called Poem Finder. And in fact, you may use it to find full-text poems, in this case “Fog,” by Carl Sandburg:
The fog comes
on little cat feet.
It sits looking
over harbor and city
on silent haunches
and then moves on.
I found the poem by typing in just the bit of it I could remember for certain.
In addition to poems, LitFinder has the full text of short stories, literary criticism and poem explication, and author biographies. It has lots of ways to search, including by era, the type of work (poem, ballad, essay, etc.), and includes about 2,000 works in Spanish.
In addition to LitFinder, we have several other literary databases that would appeal to literature lovers, or those struggling to understand it before their upcoming test or essay (hi students!).
If you’re wondering if your child has a cold or allergies, if the new drug prescribed to your husband has side-effects, or if you can treat headaches without drugs, we’d like to recommend a couple of databases to you.
Health & Wellness Resource is a great place to start for consumer health information (including those pamphlets they hand you at the MD), traditional and alternative treatments, and drug information. Gale is a trusted publisher of medical information and supplies most of the entries, in addition to providing up-to-date articles on a wide variety of medical topics.
Similarly, MedlinePlus from the National Institutes of Health is a consumer health site, in this case government sponsored. Both sites are easy to use, have trusted information, a lot of content in Spanish, and refer you to other trusted sites.
Want to learn more? Take a guided tour of Health & Wellness or just start searching. As always, ask a reference librarian if you need any help. We have lots of experience in finding information on doctors, medical conditions, treatments, and even clinical trials.
I love my dogs and I spend a lot of time with them. I learn everything I can about them and love to find interesting sites to visit where I can learn and do new things. I am retired but never tire of finding great sites to visit and learn from thank you. on Rin Tin Tin and Other Special Dogs